With more and more people seeking a more ethical and sustainable way of living, veganism is becoming increasingly popular. The demand for vegan food is increasing dramatically, which has led to many companies offering vegan options or meat-free alternatives. However, it can be difficult to know which foods are suitable for vegans, and which to avoid. Here are 12 foods you didn’t know were vegan.
There are lots of foods that seem vegan at first glance, but may contain a small amount of animal product. Conversely, there are a bunch of products that most people mistake for not being vegan friendly, when in fact they are.
12 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
Here is a list of 12 foods that you might not have known are vegan.
For those of you who love a good pretzel bun, but were worried you could no longer eat them after becoming vegan, good news! There are vegan pretzel buns available, and they taste just as good as their none vegan counterparts. They are great as a snack or starter, and can be used to make mini sandwiches.
Definitely a snack that you would assume is not suitable for vegans, but in fact, oreos do not contain any animal products. Whether you eat them whole, or like to eat each half of the biscuit separately, they’re a delicious snack for anybody (vegan or not) to enjoy.
There are not many sweets that are vegan, but starburst contain no animal products. This sweet snack may not be the healthiest option, but a packet of starburst is great to take for when you’re out and about, and need a quick energy boost. They also bring back great childhood memories!
Coco shreddies are deceivingly vegan. The chocolate flavour of the cereal makes many people assume that they contain cow’s milk. However, this cereal’s chocolate goodness comes from cocoa powder, which is vegan, instead of milk-based chocolate.
Dark chocolate is the only type of chocolate that is vegan, and it has several health benefits. Milk and white chocolate both contain cow’s milk, but dark chocolate does not. Instead, it is predominantly made out of cocoa or cacao powder, giving dark chocolate its characteristic bitter taste.
Nut butters include peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter, and more. High quality nut butters are made by blending the raw nuts until they form a smooth mixture. For this reason, they are suitable for vegetarians and vegans.
If you love a bowl of yoghurt and fruit, topped with a spoonful of granola, you will be happy to know that many granolas are vegan. Be careful when purchasing granola, as some brands use honey to give the cereal its chunky texture.
Lotus Biscoff Spread and Biscuits
Lotus biscoff is a super sweet spread that is perfect to put on top of hot toast. As it melts, it forms a delicious treacle-like consistency on the bread. Better yet, it is completely vegan. Alongside the spread, Lotus Biscoff biscuits are also vegan. They are great to dip into your hot drink whilst you’re relaxing in front of the TV in the evenings.
Another popular biscuit that are mistaken for being unsuitable for vegans, party rings actually contain zero animal products. They’re perfect for a summer BBQ or as a quick evening snack before bed if you fancy something sweet.
For the bread lovers out there, you will love this one! Crumpets are made predominantly with flour and water. Be careful to check the labels, as some companies may add in a little egg or honey, but most brands are vegan. Toast or grill your crumpets, and add on your favourite toppings, such as hot butter, jam, or peanut butter for an amazing, healthy breakfast or snack.
Weetabix are a staple cereal for many people. These wheat-based rectangles are vegan, healthy, and affordable. You can add in some fresh fruit, sprinkle some sugar on top, or drizzle in some syrup depending on your preferences.
The final snack that you probably didn’t know was vegan is the bourbon biscuit. This snack is a chocolate flavour biscuit that many people mistake for being unsuitable for vegans. However, bourbons do not contain any animal products, and are great for a quick and easy snack.